Park Güell was originally built as a private park for count Eusabi Güell between 1900 and 1914. The designer of the park was Antoni Gaudí, Güell's favorite. Gaudí planned to build 60 houses on the area of 20 ha. However, the project was not as successful as anticipated and only a small part of his plan was realized. Gaudí lived in one of the houses (Casa-Museu Gaudí) between 1906 and 1926. The house was turned into a museum devoted to Antonio Gaudí. The park remained private property of the Güell family until 1923 when it was gained by Municipal council that turned it into a public park.
The park is a part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site.
To most enchanting way to reach the top of Tibidabo is by the Tramvia Blau (=blue tram) one of the original and stylish trams that used to run through Barcelona. The tram's last stop is just in front of the funicular railway, the gateway to the amusement park. This popular fairground (Parc d'Atracions) was opened in 1908. The park is also sought out by lovers of breathtaking views – one of the best views is from Torre de Collserola (Telecommunication Tower) as one can see distance of 70 kilometers.
The park that now covers an area of 30 ha was built on the site of a military fortress. The park will enthuse both lovers of entertainment (there are many famous museums such as the Museum of Modern Art: which houses the best collection of Catalan Art Nouveau, the Geology Museum or the Zoological Museum) and lovers of nature (one can enjoy a walk through the park or admire the park from a rowing boat). But by far the most famous attraction of this park is the ZOO with its Floquet de Neu (rare species of albino gorilla).